Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.


Part of
Family Planning Association
  • Archives and manuscripts

About this work


Administrative paperwork and associated papers produced by the various regional sections of the FPA and kept by Regional Administrators.

Regional representation is patchy, with limited paperwork from some regions. However paperwork for these regions can also be found in the papers of the Committee Secretary (Section A/18) and the Chief Executive (Section B/4).



Physical description

26 boxes

Biographical note

In 1965 following a reorganisation the FPA divided its 500 Clinics into a branch structure, creating 52 new branches. After a successful campaign to transfer responsibility for FPA clinics to the NHS in 1975, further restructuring was undergone and the branch structure was replaced by a regional structure in April 1976. Ten regions were originally created, with Northern Ireland becoming Region 11 in 1977. The regions were as follows: Region 1: North of the Thames Region 2: South - East England Region 3: South - West England Region 4: Wales Region 5: Eastern England Region 6: Midlands Region 7: North - West England Region 8: Yorkshire and the North - East Region 9: Scotland Region 10: London. In 1988, Coopers and Lybrand undertook a review of the national FPA structure and recommended the closure of all regions except Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. In 1990 the regional structure was refined down to seven regions: North of England, Midlands, Anglia, South - West England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Permanent link