Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.

Volume 34. 'Clinical Pharmacology in the UK, c. 1950-2000: Industry and Regulation'

  • The Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL
Part of:
Wellcome Witnesses to Twentieth Century Medicine Seminars
  • Archives and manuscripts

About this work


Series consists of papers, correspondence, photographs, cassette tapes and digital material related to the seminar on "Clinical Pharmacology in the UK, c. 1950-2000: Industry and Regulation", which was held at the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL, on 25 September 2007. The seminar was part of the Wellcome Witnesses to Twentieth Century Medicine meetings also known as the Witness Seminars. The transcript of this seminar was published as Volume 34 of the Witness Seminar series, L.A. Reynolds and E.M. Tansey (editors), Clinical Pharmacology in the UK, c. 1950-2000: Industry and Regulation, (London: Wellcome Trust, 2008).

The participants for the seminar were; Dr Jeffrey Aronson; Professor Nigel Baber; Sir Alasdair Breckenridge; Sir Iain Chlamers; Professor Joe Collier; Professor Donald Davies; Dr Peter Fletcher; Professor Rod Flower (Chair); Dr Arthur Fowle; Professor Sir Charles George; Professor David Grahame-Smith; Professor John Griffin; Dr Andrew Herxheimer; Dr Peter Lewis; Professor Tim Mant; Professor Denis McDevitt; Professor Michael Orme; Dr Anthony Peck; Professor Brian Prichard; Professor Sir Michael Rawlins; Professor John Reid; Professor Phil Routledge; Dr Julian Shelley; Dr Robert Smith; Professor Cameron Swift; Dr Tilli Tansey; Professor Duncan Vere; and Professor Owen Wade.

The editors of the published transcript were L.A. Reynolds and E.M. Tansey with an introduction by Professor Parveen Kumar.

The meeting advisers and organisers were Dr Jeff Aronson and Dr Daphne Christie.


Others present at the meeting included; Yaa Adjei; Dr Stuart Anderson; Professor Paul Andrews; Dr Fiona MacLaughlin; Dr Clare McVicker; Wesley Miner; Professor Sir Stanley Peart; Professor Laurie Prescott; Dr Ann Marie Swart; DR Margaret Wade; and Dr Naho Yamazaki.

Apologies sent by; Professor David Barnett; Dr Peter Barnett; Professor Sir James Black; Professor Morris Brown; Professor Tony Dayan; Professor Sir Colin Dollery; Professor Sir Liam Donaldson; Professor Robin Ferner; Dr Jeremy Gale; Dr Gerry Haigh; Professor Andrew Hughes; Professor Leslie Iversen; Dr Derrick Jackson; Professor Trevor Jones; Professor Parveen Kumar; Professor Desmond Laurence; Professor Salvador Moncada; Dr John Mucklow; Dr Douglas Munro-Faure; Dr Stuart Murray; Professor Walter Nimmo; Dr Chris Owens; Professor Munir Pirmohamed; Dr John Posner; Dr Anthony Pottage; Dr June Raine; Dr Gill Samuels; Dr Gareth Sanger; Dr Myles Stephens; Dr Malcolm Thomas; Dr Richard Tiner; Dr Martin Todd; Professor John Toy; Professor David Webb; Dr Frank Wells; Dr Gavin Winston; and Professor Kent Woods.

Digital material includes recordings, papers and photographs relating to the seminar and can be found under Transcripts.



Physical description

12 files and 1 digital item

Finding aids

Wellcome Library online catalogue

Permanent link