Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.

Gwen Prout stamp collection vol.9 Nobel Prize Medicine 1960-1973

Part of:
Gwen Prout Stamp Collection
  • Archives and manuscripts

About this work


The volume comprises a collection of stamps, first day covers, biographies and press cuttings about various winners of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine awarded between 1960 and 1973. Some of the items come with annotations and captions made by Gwen Prout. The stamps come from all over the world covering Europe, North America, South America, Africa, Asia and Oceania.

The volume covers the following Nobel Prize winners:

1960: Sir Frank Macfarlane Burnet and Sir Peter Medawar

1961: Georg von Békésy

1963: Sir John Eccles, Sir Alan Hodgkin and Sir Andrew Huxley

1964: Konrad Bloch and Feodor Lynen

1965: François Jacob, André Lwoff and Jacques Monod

1966: Peyton Rous and Charles Brenton Huggins

1967: Ragnar Granit, Haldan Hartline and George Wald

1968: Robert W. Holley, Har Gobind Khorana and Marshall W. Nirenberg

1969: Max Delbrück, Alfred D. Hershey and Salvador E. Luria

1970: Julius Axelrod, Ulf von Euler and Sir Bernard Katz

1971: Earl W. Sutherland, Jr.

1972: Gerald M. Edelman and Rodney R. Porter

1973: Konrad Lorenz and Nikolaas Tinbergen

The 1962 Nobel Prize winners, Francis Crick, James Watson and Maurice Wilkins are covered in volumes 10 and 11.



Physical description

1 volume

Where to find it

  • LocationStatusAccess
    Closed stores

Permanent link