Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.


Part of
National Childbirth Trust (NCT)
  • Archives and manuscripts

About this work


The NCT divided the UK into seven regions as follows:

Region 1: Scotland

Region 2: North West England (except Cumbria), North Wales and Northern Ireland

Region 3: South Wales and South West England and Channel Islands

Region 4: South East England

Region 5: South Midlands

Region 6: Midlands and Lincolnshire

Region 7: North England, North East England and Cumbria

All regions were instructed to adopt a constitution which had to be approved by the Council of Trustees. Regional groups were organised by a Regional Coordinator, and representatives from NCT regions sat on the Council of Trustees and Regional Committees.

For papers relating to the administration of branches, refer to the Branches Forum papers (SA/NCT/F/2) and Voluntary Work and Expansion Committee (SA/NCT/D/8; SA/NCT/D/10).

Papers relating to NCT Havering Branch, including records relating to antenatal classes, photographs and newsletters, can be found in Jean Norris' papers, under the reference SA/NCT/B/1/2.

For branch publications, particularly local directories of services for mothers and young children, and recipe books, refer to SA/NCT/J/6.



Physical description

25 boxes

Permanent link