Channel chart: Meeting points of the 8 Extraordinary Channels

  • Digital Images
  • Online

Available online

view Channel chart: Meeting points of the 8 Extraordinary Channels

Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

You can use this work for any purpose, including commercial uses, without restriction under copyright law. You should also provide attribution to the original work, source and licence. Read more about this licence.


Channel chart: Meeting points of the 8 Extraordinary Channels. Wellcome Collection. Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0). Source: Wellcome Collection.

Selected images from this work

View 1 image

About this work


Ink drawing from a MS of the Qing period (1644-1911). The Eight Extraordinary Channels (Qi jing ba mai) are distinguished from the twelve primary channels. They comprise dumai (Governor Vessel), renmai (the Director Vessel, often translated as Conception Vessel), chongmai (Penetrating vessel), daimai (Belt Vessel), Yangqiao mai (Yang Heel Vessel), Yinqiao mai (Yin Heel Vessel), Yangwei mai (Yang Tie Vessel) and Yinwei mai (Yin Tie Vessel). These eight channels are not linked to specific viscera; they form a network connecting the Twelve Channels, and serve to regulate Qi within the 'regular' channels (zhengjing).The chart shows the eight Meeting Points (huixue) of the Eight Extraordinary Channels, i.e. lieque (Break in the Sequence), neiguan (Inner Pass), waiguan (Outer Pass), houxi (Back Stream), shenmai (Extending Vessel), linqi (Close to Tears), zhaohai (Shining Sea) and gongsun (Grandparent and Grandchild).


IMAGE TITLE: Form of the Eight [Extraordinary] Channels. OTHER LETTERING: Lieque (Break in the Sequence); neiguan (Inner Pass) waiguan (Outer Pass); houxi (Back Stream); shenmai (Extending Vessel); linqi (Close to Tears); zhaohai (Shining Sea); gongsun (Grandparent and Grandchild


Permanent link