BetaThis search tool is in development. Find out more.
Digital Images

Acu-moxa chart: Spleen channel of foot taiyin in the legs

Available online

view Acu-moxa chart: Spleen channel of foot taiyin in the legs


Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
You can use this work for any purpose, including commercial uses, without restriction under copyright law. You should also provide attribution to the original work, source and licence.
Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) terms and conditions
Credit: Acu-moxa chart: Spleen channel of foot taiyin in the legs. Credit: Wellcome Collection. Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Selected images from this work

About this work


Woodblock illustration from a work on 'Chinese' medicine by the 18th century Japanese physician Hara Masakatsu, published in 1807 (4th year of the Bunkwa era). The spleen channel of foot taiyin is one of the Twelve Channels. It originates at the yinbai (Concealed White) point and terminates at the dabao (Great Wrapping) point. There are 21 acu-moxa locations on this channel, i.e. 42 altogether on both sides of the body. The points on the lower limbs are: yinbai (Concealed White); dadu (Great Metropolis), taibai (Great White), gongsun (Grandparent and Grandchild), shangqiu (Shang Mound), sanyinjiao (Three Yin Intersection), lougu (Dripping Valley), diji (Earth Pivot), yinlingquan (Yin Mound Spring), xuehai (Sea of Blood) and jimen (Winnowing Portal).


Yinbai (Concealed White); dadu (Great Metropolis); taibai (Great White); gongsun (Grandparent and Grandchild); shangqiu (Shang Mound); sanyinjiao (Three Yin Intersection); lougu (Dripping Valley); diji (Earth Pivot); yinlingquan (Yin Mound Spring); xuehai (Sea of Blood); jimen (Winnowing Portal) [Acu-moxa locations]


Permanent link

We’re improving the information on this page. Find out more.