Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.

Menstrual cycle

  • Susan Lockhart
  • Digital Images
  • Online

Available online

view Menstrual cycle


Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0)
You can use this work for any purpose, as long as it is not primarily intended for or directed to commercial advantage or monetary compensation. You should also provide attribution to the original work, source and licence.
Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC 4.0) terms and conditions

Selected images from this work

About this work


Artwork showing the stages and relationship between events during a female menstrual cycle. The central disk reads clockwise from the top, starting at day 1 of the cycle. The levels of each of the four main hormones are represented by the four coloured discs. Red = follicle stimulating hormone, green = oestrogen, yellow = lutinizing hormone and blue = progesterone. The intensity of each colour denotes the concentration of the hormone in the blood. The five surrounding illustrations show the corresponding changes in the ovary and the lining of the uterus (endometrium) as it prepares for potential pregnancy. After ovulation, if fertilisation does not occur, the corpus luteum demises after about 10 days and the uterine lining sheds, ready for the next cycle.


Permanent link