Library catalogue
Find thousands of books, manuscripts, visual materials and unpublished archives from our collections, many of them with free online access.

A new and accurate system of natural history. In six volumes. Containing, I. The history of quadrupeds, including amphibious Animals, Frogs, and Lizards. II. The history of birds, with the Method of bringing up those of the singing Kind. III. The history of fishes and serpents, including Sea Turtles, Crustaceous and Shell Fishes. To which is added, the whole Art of Float and Fly Fishing, the best Rules for the Choice of Tackle, and a Description of natural and artificial Baits. IV. The history of insects. V. The history of waters, earths, stones, Fossils, and Minerals, including the Observations of Linnaeus on these Subjects. VI. The histor of vegetables, as well Foreign as Indigenous, including an Account of the Roots, Barks, Woods, Leaves, Flowers, Fruits, Seeds, Resins, Gums, and concreted Juices; together with the Method of cultivating those planted in Gardens. With Observations on their Virtues, Properties, and Medicinal Uses. By R. Brookes, M. D. Author of the General Practice of Physic, &c.

  • Brookes, R. active 1721-1763.
  • Books
  • Online

About this work


London : printed for T. Carnan and F. Newbery, jun. at Number 65, in St. Paul's Church-Yard, MDCCLXXII. [1772]

Physical description

6v.,plates ; 12⁰.


The second edition, corrected.

Reproduction note

Electronic reproduction. Farmington Hills, Mich. : Thomson Gale, 2003. (Eighteenth century collections online). Available via the World Wide Web. Access limited by licensing agreements.

References note

ESTC T118916



  • English

Permanent link